My 2017 Movie Must-See List

I haven’t even seen every 2016 film I’ve had on my list yet, but 2017 is here and I have to look forward to what’s coming. Here are the movies I am most excited about this year!

 

MY 2017 MOVIE MUST-WATCH LIST

 

THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE

the_lego_batman_movie_-_batcave_teaser_trailer_screen_shot_-h_2016

Sure it may be geared towards kids, which most likely means I’ll skip it in the theater, but I was a huge fan of The Lego Movie and Will Arnett’s cocky Lego version of the Dark Knight. These movies aren’t meant to be taken too seriously, and they both play homage while spoofing their source material. I anticipate this being a fun ride from start to finish. And there will be a lot of bat puns.

 

LOGAN

thumbnail_25047

Last year I made it a point to watch every X-Men movie that existed. Hugh Jackman ended up becoming the quintessential Wolverine in my eyes. This is supposed to be his final time playing Wolverine, and I am really looking forward to his curtain call. I just hope the claws aren’t poorly done CGI this time around.

 

KONG: SKULL ISLAND

kong-skull-island-final-official-trailer-6

I absolutely love monster movies, and I wish we’d get more modern-day monster smash ’em up goodness in our cinemas. Peter Jackson’s 2005 King Kong film was okay, but with this movie actually tying into the Godzilla franchise – which by the way, I really loved that 2014 Gareth Edwards film – I look forward to seeing the other king of the monsters get some more screen time in preparation for his eventual battle against Godzilla himself.

 

BEAUTY & THE BEAST

landscape-1478512906-beauty-and-the-beast-movie

With an incredible cast set to remake one of Disney’s greatest animated stories of all time, there is no way this movie will disappoint (unlike that damn Alice in Wonderland movie). I cannot wait to be the guest of this tale as old as time!

 

POWER RANGERS

nejxxrtfgqhunm_2_b

A case where my childhood is coming back to me and I’m excited about it?!?! I’ve wanted an adult take on the Power Rangers for a long time now – I even wrote a treatment for an adult based series. Should I maybe write some episodes out and put them on here? I may do that. I cannot wait to see this badass telling of the lore of Power Rangers. The costumes look amazing, and WALTER WHITE IS ZORDON!!!!!

 

GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY, VOLUME 2

adq8ebwv

As a huge fan of the first movie, I am seriously excited about the next chapter. Considering I knew nothing of the source material going in, I still find it very surprising that Guardians of the Galaxy is one of my top favorite MCU films. The trailer for this one made me illegitimately laugh out loud several times, especially with Baby Groot running with the bomb and Drax’s hysterical laughter at the end. I really look forward to this one, it’s one of my most anticipated films.

 

PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN: DEAD MEN TELL NO TALES

pirates0004

In all honesty, this is somewhat of a loose choice, much like Alien: Covenant will be. I’m not 100% sure if I’ll want to see this, but being that it’s part of the Pirates franchise, which I still enjoy even though it’s gone severely downhill, I will probably give it a watch. Or at least wait until I read some reviews. I still love the Pirates movies, especially the character of Jack Sparrow, so I know I’ll see this in some capacity.

 

WONDER WOMAN

wonder-woman-gal-gadot

I’m skeptical about this movie, solely due to how disappointing I thought Batman V Superman was. However, I feel like they can’t possibly screw this up. Right? Right?? Somebody please agree with me!!!

 

THE MUMMY

upload-160614

Okay, so the trailer looks awesome, and they’re going back to the true horror roots of the original Universal monster film. That’s pretty cool. But seriously, the best image I could find was Tom Cruise standing in front of the OLD movie’s logo? That’s…not giving me the highest hopes right now.

 

DESPICABLE ME 3

bcf1b43d32a4dfbc4343dfb14b905ac2be30f166e5f42accf015312505acb070

Trey Parker is the villain? Sold.

 

SPIDER-MAN: HOMECOMING

spidermanlarge

The original Spider-Man movies were fun, until 3 came along and disappointed us all. Then we got the Amazing Spider-Man, but the second version disappointed us all. Then Spider-Man showed up in Civil War, and it was AWESOME. I think we’re going to get what could be the best Spider-Man movie to date with this installment. Finally, Spider-Man is home where he belongs.

 

KINGSMAN: THE GOLDEN CIRCLE

kingsman2header2

I ended up being a really big fan of the first movie when I finally watched it in early 2016. Not only was it insanely clever and action packed, but full of that great British wit. I’m excited that the movie did well enough to earn itself a sequel. I hope it lives up to the original!

 

THOR: RAGNAROK

nep4duxb6kmtsv_2_b

I don’t like the Thor movies as much as the other MCU films, like Iron Man or Captain America, but knowing what I know about the Ragnarok storyline, I think I will have to give this one a watch. Plus, some dude named John Cena is rumored to be in it.

 

JUSTICE LEAGUE

justice-league-first-image

All I’m asking is that you’re better than Batman V Superman. That isn’t a hard request, it really isn’t! I hope DC’s answer to the Avengers delivers. Especially since this will be the movie coming out around my birthday. In fact, it’s release date is November 17 – that IS my birthday! So be good!

 

COCO

1447775285

A Pixar movie about the Mexican Day of the Dead really intrigues me. I look forward to seeing if Pixar can deliver in 2017. Considering their other offering is a third Cars installment where Lightning McQueen appears to die, I think that this will be the better movie.

 

STAR WARS EPISODE VIII

dd2136507ee67d7a5e6494796e514f1b73f89d4ed7f861ffd5f1d4fe04d78a27

Easily my most anticipated movie of the year, and we know so little about it!!! But it’s Star Wars, so I will always be on board that hype train all the way to the other side of the galaxy and back.

 

Did I leave something out? Probably. It just means I’m not as hyped for that film as you are. So before commenting that I forgot about the next Fast & the Furious movie or the remake of It, keep in mind that these are only the movies I feel like I need to see, and not necessarily the ONLY movies I will see.

Let me know in the comments what your most anticipated films of 2017 are! And maybe I will see you at the movies!

One thought on “My 2017 Movie Must-See List”

Leave a Reply

